Coffee Book Tag

Coffee Book Tag

What’s up, my book peeps?

I’ve been so busy with all the stupid adult responsibilities I have, I haven’t had time to read, post on bookstagram, or post here. It’s the lamest thing ever. Growing up isn’t all unicorns and free books, guys.

Anyway, in the small amount of free time I have, I’ve been looking around for inspiration for my next blog post (that’s this one!), and while I have a list of things I could write about, writing about coffee on a day when I could really use another cup seemed like fun. A few people I follow have done the Coffee Book tag, and while I feel like one of them might have tagged me (code for: I commented my undying love for the tag and they awkwardly told me I should give it a go 😂). So, I’m sort of tagging myself. But that’s okay because I’m an independent person. 😉 And since I haven’t technically been tagged, I’ll take the suffering away from you by tagging anyone who reads this who would like to do it! It’s perfect for a rainy day post, when you need a hot beverage. And on that note, is anyone else craving autumn? Or is that just me? It’s my favorite season for a reason, and while I like summer, it always feels a little too long.

Now, on with the tag!

Black Coffee: name a book or series that is hard to get into but has hardcore fans

I thought about this one for awhile, but I think I’d have to choose the Game of Thrones series for this one. I haven’t actually attempted to read this series yet, but I’ve been told by friends of mine who have read it that it takes awhile to get into, mostly because the character point of view changes often. Plus, all the deaths. But, once you get into this series it seems like you can never get out again! And don’t get me started on those crazy TV viewers. 😉

Peppermint Mocha: name a book that gets more popular during the winter months or during a festive time of year

This one was hard for me, but I’m going to have to pick Harry Potter for this one. That may be based on my personal bias, but I love reading the sections about Christmas in HP during the month of December. I love how each one feels so festive, with the Hogwarts feast and the presents. It makes my inner child happy. 🙂

Hot Chocolate: what is your favorite children’s book? 

While I completely disagree that hot chocolate is for children (and if adults drinking it is wrong, I don’t want to be right ever again), some of my favorite children’s books are Goosebumps books. They were the first books that really sparked my interest in reading, and I’ll feel undying devotion for them forevermore. And the fact that Goosebumps books and the TV show The X Files are some of my best childhood memories, and I’m now sharing that with you, I’m expecting my weirdness factor to go up. 😉

Double Shot of Espresso: a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish

The first book that jumped into my head after reading this was The 5th Wave trilogy by Rick Yancey. It was so intriguing and kept me guessing until the very end. I was never sure who was telling the truth and who was a dirty liar. In a word: trust issues (okay, two words).

Starbucks: name a book you see everywhere

This question made me laugh out loud. I live in the Pacific Northwest, about 2 hours from Seattle, where the original Starbucks opened. So around here, there is literally a Starbucks on almost every corner. We’re proud of our coffee heritage. The book that jumped into my mind after reading this one was This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. Since it’s release, it’s basically in every other bookstagram photo I see. Which only makes me want it more. 😉

That Hipster Coffee Shop: give a book by an indie author a shoutout

The series I just finished reading, called the Collector series by Stacey Marie Brown, was epically awesome. Its a new adult series of four, and the first book, City of Embers, was only 99 cents on the Amazon Kindle store. Here is the link to the Goodreads page if you want to read about it. It’s an amazing mix of action, urban fantasy, sarcastic humor (my favorite kind), with a bit of romance thrown in. Be warned though, my young friends. It does contain a lot of swearing and “adult content”. I’ve always wondered what that means, though. Basically sex and violence. But it’s a super fun ride, so if you feel like you can handle it, definitely go read it right now. I seriously read all four books in about a week and a half. The other series by this author, the Darkness series, which I read a couple years ago, is also badass. Check that one out too! Also New adult.

Oops! I accidentally got decaf: name a book you were expecting more from

This feels like an unpopular opinion setup. But I have to say Red Queen. There was so much hype about this book before it was even released, I was expecting it to be my favorite new fantasy. However, it fell way short. I couldn’t get into it at all. I found myself not relating to the characters at all. I didn’t really care about them, their relationships, and the romance felt a bit forced. Not to offend anyone if this is your favorite book, but it just wasn’t for me.

The Perfect Blend: a book or series that is both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying

Try every Cassandra Clare book. The most bitter part is the ending. Just because it’s over.

Green Tea: name a book or series that is quietly beautiful 

First thought: The Perks of Being A Wallflower. Its so lovely in its writing, its content, and the way it reminds every young person that life is beautiful, even when it’s hard.

Chai Tea: name a book or series that makes you dream of far off places

Definitely The Iron Fey series by Julia Kagawa. I’ve only read the first four books, which was the original series. I really want to read the companion books, which continue in that world from another character’s perspective. I loved the writing, the fantasy world, and the way modern technology was worked into the fey world. Also, the characters were awesome and Ash and Puck as serious book boyfriend material. Definitely an under rated series! Check the Goodreads here.

Earl Grey: favorite classic book 

If I didn’t pick Alice in Wonderland, you’d need to have me airlifted to the nearest hospital, so I could have my head examined.


And there you have it! You’re all tagged! Make sure you ping your posts back to me so I can see your answers. And don’t mind me, waiting by my keyboard for someone to post.😉

Cheers! ☕️

img_1053

 

Leave a Reply

