ARC Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

ARC Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Hey guys!

I posted a few days ago about winning an ARC of It Ends With Us and how I was so excited to read it, as I’d never read a Colleen Hoover book before. Now that I’ve read it, I’m wondering if her books come in a boxset or something, because I loved this book so much. Since I received this book in a contest and not in exchange for a review, I won’t include any spoilers. Especially since this book hasn’t been released yet. πŸ˜‰

If you don’t know what this book is about, here is the synopsis from Goodreads and click here to visit the Goodreads page:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up. She graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant and has a total soft spot for Lily; and the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his no dating rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan, her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all too human characters, β€œIt Ends with Us” is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

Aside from that description, I had no idea what to expect from this book going in. I’d read a few short reviews from other bloggers who received ARCs and they all raved about it. But I wasn’t sure if I’d like the writing style, the characters, or anything else since I’ve never read anything from this author. But from the first line of this book, I was hooked. The main character Lily was so relatable right from the start. And I loved seeing the world through her eyes. She’s utterly broken but still pushing through.

I loved seeing Lily’s life in the past through her journal entries. I loved everything about this book and how all the characters were multi-dimensional and deeply flawed, but still lovable. I also had no idea this book would address domestic violence. I won’t say too much about it to avoid spoilers, but I felt that the way it worked with such a serious and prevalent issue was amazing. It really changed my perspective on these types of relationships. I don’t have any personal experience with domestic violence, but I do know a few people who have been in abusive relationships. And when I would look at those amazing strong women, I always wondered, “why did they stay?”. But it seems like a rude question, so I never asked. This book really helped me understand that it’s not always black and white. Not like it seems to a bystander.

So, do I recommend this book? Yes! I recommend it to everyone. It was funny and romantic and emotional. I cried and laughed a few times. I’m not usually a huge fan of contemporary novels, but I read this book in two sittings. It’s one of those books that will change your world just enough that you notice, and you can’t get it out of your head.

6/5 stars! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

This book is officially released August 2nd! So mark your calendar. #TeamAtlas

Cheers! β˜•οΈ

Leave a Reply

